Highway 1 Opens tonight, 6:00 PM Fri. 11 July

by

Hello Big Sur!

The opening is beginning. Tonight at 6:00 PM (Officially) Highway 1 will open from Palo Colorado Road to Coast Gallery – no restrictions, no mumbo jumbo. 

Sunday, July 13 at 8:00 AM Highway 1 will be open clear through from Carmel to San Simeon.

Explanation: This morning I had word about this opening. I posted it. Minutes later Caltans released a press release that contradicted my information. I’m glad to report that we had it correct. Caltrans is now correcting their press release. Unofficially, the northern section may be open before 6:00 PM but officially, at the latest its 6:00 PM tonight.

Caltrans is correcting their press release and I will forward that through our channels as soon as we get it. surfire2008.org scoops one more time.

